The AP Tour at Revolution!

Posted: November 14, 2010 in Concert Review

Rah! Rah! Rah! Finally two bands I’ve wanted to see share the stage, did. The AP Music Tour put together a roster of bands that had Revolution packed on November 10th, with well-known bands such as; This Is Hell, Polar Bear Club, Emarosa, August Burns Red and Bring Me the Horizon—the last two being the ones I wanted to see and I’m pretty sure I said Polar Bear “Express” club multiple times without realizing that it was just Polar Bear Club—anyway.

The line to enter the venue was bigger than I’ve seen in quite some time, which was refreshing to see because for a while there, I thought Florida’s hardcore scene had flat lined but this proved  there is still a pulse left.

Fort Lauderdale grew electric on this calm Wednesday afternoon as tour buses parked along the streets teamed with eager fans hoping to get a peek at their favorite musicians, this, along with the clamoring of hundreds, possibly thousands of people audible from a distance made it safe to say that this show was going to be awesome.

Starting off the evening was veteran band, This Is Hell followed by a fairly new band, Polar Bear Club, which wasn’t my favorite to say the least, and Emarosa. I wasn’t expecting much out of these three but Emarosa I expected a bit more from. I kept thinking to myself, if these guys stick to their old stuff they should be great. I was wrong, sadly, and their set was rather bland and lacked the energy a lot of fans were expecting. I can’t critique too much on their behalf because I took a break during their set to grab a few drinks, but what I gathered from most people was; “they sucked”.

Finally after a few hours of painfully tired music, August Burns Red began setting up. Immediately the atmosphere changed from humdrum, to completely ecstatic. The venue grew hot with the body heat of squirming fans trying to make their way to the front of the stage.

 The bass drum kicked every once in a while accompanied by the sound of tuning guitars and the crowd started screaming with the anticipation of the set starting but the curtains remained veiled. This tease happened a few times before all of a sudden the curtains swung open and out came raging vocalist, Jake Luhrs, backed by the rest of the band and the entire venue was filled by loud jeering and rattling speakers.

They played a great set and picked a few songs from all their albums, which they can do since they haven’t really made a “terrible” album. Even if they picked their most mediocre song from their worst album, which in my opinion was Messengers, they’d still be playing good music. This was my first time seeing them play live and they exceeded all my expectations.

Finally came on the goliaths of hardcore/metal music scene; Bring Me the Horizon. I saw them play at the Ritz a year ago with Every Time I Die and the Architects and I was a bit disappointed in their sound quality. But they nonetheless played a good set; I was just expecting a bit more.

I was blown away this time around and convinced it was the sound techs fault for their less-than-par sound quality the last time I saw them. The crowd reacted like a hive of angry ants. There were crowd surfers barraging the security guards towards the front of the stage, the pit was pretty much the entire venue and everyone sang every damn part of every song. It was glorious and I can’t say I’ve seen a better performance. They opened with their newest single, It Never Ends along with other songs such as, Fuck, Pray for Plagues, Football season is over, Diamonds aren’t forever and a few more  which I can’t recall. The transition from song to song was just absolutely flawless and they played a large variety of their older material, which is always great.

 Oli Sykes completely dominated the stage and did a superb job as a front-man. Newly added guitarist, Jona Weinhofen, also contributed to the madness and dashed up and down the stage the entire time. Needless to say, I and everyone in that place was impressed.

This last little bit may disappoint you but it was brought to my attention by my photographer that there may have been some lip-synching going on. I can’t say for sure because I wasn’t as close nor as concentrated on Oli Sykes’ lips since I was busy fending off moshers and crowd surfers. All I can say if he did; shame on you! This isn’t a Britney Spears concert.  But overall, I was in every way, content with this show.

Leave a Reply

